kiwisue: (DanCarter)
[personal profile] kiwisue
So - starting at the conclusion - K and I have both decided that we need to win PowerBall, so we can quit our jobs and spend our time hopping from con to con... or (as I never remember to buy tickets) K can win & I'll become her devoted slave/baggage hauler for as long as the money holds out.

I meant to write up at least half of the trip before posting, but this part (only up until ZCon Friday) grew, and grew… am not usually so verbose *winces*. Anyway, that's what's Below the Cut.

Pre-day One:
I was going to leave work at 7 and pack before bed. Instead I left at sometime after 9 (which involved shutting the door on the office and a heap of stuff that didn't get done in time - gah!). Home, I threw everything I thought I was taking in a pile on the bed beside my backpack, ploughed through replies to a dozen or so non-fannish emails and fell asleep at 2 a.m.

Day One (the very long one)
The idea was to get to the airport very early in pursuit of decent seating assignments. Getting out of bed was a struggle, but I made K's by 10:00, parked my car in the neighbour's garage as arranged and we were at the airport by 11:00. A little negotiation got us both bulkhead seats – K needs accessible seating because (a) she's afraid of flying and (b) she had a couple of bad accidents some years ago and her mobility is now quite restricted as a result. Struggling in and out of a middle or window seat would be panic-inducing and physically almost impossible for her.

The flight was fine, although I didn't sleep much. Interestingly, I found the immigration process a lot friendlier than on previous visits. First time I came through LA (in ''91) signs still used the term 'nonresident aliens' for the non-US passport or green card holders, we were warned to complete our immigration cards exactly and without even the most minute error (cue instant anxiety), and the officials were uniformly grim, when they weren't being plain rude. My travelling companion at the time frankly lied about his very brief youthful association with the Young Communists, although any moderately thorough background check would have pulled up his name as his father had been an active member of the Party in Australia for many years. Perhaps in reaction, M grew up to be almost completely apolitical. Anyway, that question is thankfully missing from the 2007 forms and although officialdom was no less thorough this time, somehow – hard to put a finger on it – the whole process was infinitely more welcoming.

Once through Immigrations and Customs, K and I dumped our bags at the American Airlines transit point and headed for our Chicago flight. No choice of seating but I swapped with K to give her an aisle one. In Chicago we picked up K's bag, but mine didn't appear. Baggage service was less than helpful – they kept suggesting that I search the adjacent carousels, or the unclaimed baggage drop area before finally, after we'd wasted almost an hour, begrudgingly filing a missing report. I was seriously angry with the people we dealt with. Almost without exception they'd evidenced absolutely no interest in my situation, kept suggesting I'd missed something (I hadn't) and not once ever offering any sort of possible explanation for the non-appearance of my baggage, or clear information on what was going to happen as a result. Apparently their job was to file a report and let the gods handle the rest.

(To jump to the conclusion of that saga, I did get my bags again, 2 1/2 days later, but not before my details were somehow wiped from American Airlines' delayed baggage system, which took additional phone calls to sort out, and more than a few tears when I found an actual person on the other end who turned out to be both sympathetic and helpful).

Meanwhile, bloody pissed off, but determined not to let it spoil things, I took the shuttle to the hotel. Nice welcome, helpful staff, pleasant (although slightly damp smelling) room, free internet – relax. I bought a Rugby World Cup pass to cheer myself up. Somehow I totally missed the cool S&H decorated door in our corridor– K had to point it out to me next day *g* - guess I was preoccupied.

Day Two
A restless night, before I fell asleep about 6 am and woke late. We took a trip to the nearby Target store for emergency clothing and then hung around in the hotel foyer bar, watching the con-type people arrive. [livejournal.com profile] agentxpndble arrived *squee!* and we cleared a corner of our room for her mattress. I think I saw [livejournal.com profile] justacat in the distance and I was downstairs when [livejournal.com profile] enednoviel and [livejournal.com profile] przed rocked in. I was hoping to run into someone who had posted an email about an Alias Smith & Jones viewing evening, but no luck –[livejournal.com profile] msmoat later said she'd tried to contact her but the number given was wrong or out of service. Oh well. I took my laptop down with me and K and I watched the first half of the All Black's game against Italy until accosted by a woman (well, not quite accosted, but while we were talking the batteries ran down, so hmmph) who gave us a rundown on the hotel, how it's over an underground river, and carparking is bad because it's cheaper for people going to the next-door arena and airport so it gets full, and the ground floor is bad to be on because the rooms have been broken into and the locks not fixed properly. Could have been horribly worrying, but she had worse complaints about the previous hotel, so I took it all "under advisement".

Woke again during the night, but my room-mates were asleep so I went to the bathroom and typed emails, perched on the edge of the shower recess.

Day 3
kicked off the Con proper. [livejournal.com profile] paris7am was due to arrive later in the day. I was really looking forward to seeing her again – we'd met briefly a couple of years earlier when K and I traveled to England for AMFAS (the trip that started the whole planning to go to ZCon thing).

Registration, blah, blah. Checked out the program (which was slightly confusing in format, with the headings for each day in the same size and type font as the sub sections - I craved a table); met up with more people I knew, like [livejournal.com profile] msmoat (I think this was the day I had lunch with her and [livejournal.com profile] justacat, and J explained the problem I was having with ordering a lemonade/Sprite/Sierra Mist *g*), and new faces ([livejournal.com profile] krisserci5, [livejournal.com profile] windrain10 [livejournal.com profile] artconserv, [livejournal.com profile] sc_fossil, [livejournal.com profile] creedcascade, [livejournal.com profile] faramir_boromir, [livejournal.com profile] majorbrat, [livejournal.com profile] carodee [livejournal.com profile] the_shoshanna). OK, I didn't exactly connect with all of them on the one day, and some of this meetage involved really brief "hello, I'm x, who the heck are you… oh I do know your name/read your stories!" type moments, but this seems like a convenient spot to list them all. Linear, I'm not.

A Pros story by [livejournal.com profile] creedcascade won the writing competition. It's over here
What Makes a Man. Lovely Bodie-centred piece.

Dealers Room - there were stacks of good stuff. I bought several things from the table selling items from Lily's collection (I was particularly happy to find a few 2nd draft Pros scripts), some DVD's, a beautiful print by Lorraine Brevig (and so nice to meet the artist herself!) and a few 'zines. Overall though, I was really quite restrained (compared to Nattercon, anyway – those who were there may now smile and roll their eyes!).

There was a swirl of movement all around me, people registering, greeting, talking in the foyer, the bar, the corridors. [livejournal.com profile] paris7am arrived late afternoon, to much rejoicing, and [livejournal.com profile] agentxpndble decamped to her new digs.

Panels – missed the first few. At my first - "The Professionals – why this fandom has endured for thirty years" - I sat in the second row, which was a mistake, because a lot of the comments came from behind me and I couldn't see who made them, nor did I know who the speakers were in most cases. So, good to be in a room with so many Pros fans, but not really engaging. No fault of the mods (I was thrilled to see C**** P**** there, although I never managed to speak with her and tell her how much I loved her stories).

The second, "Writing Fannish History", was very interesting, although mostly about the Star Trek Legacy Project. History fascinates me, slash fandom history in particular because of its clandestine and subversive (as some would have it, anyway) roots. Of course, it makes me yearn for something similar for Pros, although I can't help thinking it would be almost impossible to get enough of the people from the early days to collaborate to produce such a work.

Sorta tangential - while searching the Internet for info on the Legacy Project, which is limited to say the least (and is that a deliberate choice on the part of the editors – no Fan History Wiki references, no links from other associated pages etc, etc… honestly, If I'd never been to Zcon I'd never have heard of it), I also found the much better known Foresmutters Project. The website has been down since June, but the site's still accessible through Internet Archive. Some fascinating stuff, especially this, here, which adds some lovely layers of complexity to the whole history of fen thinking about sexuality in a slash context.

The third panel was "Spies and Slashers: The Enduring Appeal", and it was great fun. The group was small enough to let us arrange our chairs in a circle *g*, and discussion was lively – I'm just a little sorry that my memory of what we talked about is fading, but I recall that we touched on issues of loyalty, trust, what the boundaries are, subtext, etc etc.

Parties: Not really a party, but Paris, K and I attended the memorial for Joan Martin and Lily Fulford. We were late, most of the others had gone to other things, but it gave us the opportunity to talk to some older fen, and I appreciated that very much. Many thanks to those who organized the gathering.

Stopping now – more later.

Date: 2007-09-30 08:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] byslantedlight.livejournal.com
*kicks American Airlines*

Excellent con report - cheers! I love how all these little details sort of leak out of everyone's reports, like the fact that there was a writing competition, and that a Pros story was the winner! Of all the other reports I've read, I'd not heard of that at all! Makes me wonder what else was going on... *g*

Date: 2007-10-06 12:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiwisue.livejournal.com
*g* ah well, we all took a sekrit oath at the door...

Glad you've had the chance to read the story too...

Date: 2007-09-30 01:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msmoat.livejournal.com
It's great to read about all this--it seems so long ago! It was fun, wasn't it? This was my first con in years. I'd forgotten.... Although, yikes, I'm sorry American Airlines was so awful. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy yourself, regardless. You certainly looked like you were having fun! *g*

Date: 2007-10-06 12:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiwisue.livejournal.com
I was! And it was fabulous to see you again so soon, although not enough of you (apart from our shared meals, I hardly saw you!). I'm missing everyone so much, now I'm back at work.

Date: 2007-09-30 03:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] faramir-boromir.livejournal.com
Delighted to meet you as well! I'm enjoying your report, as it reminds me of things I was sort of forgetting.

And particular thanks for the fan wiki history--I'll have to read that later today.

Date: 2007-10-06 12:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiwisue.livejournal.com
Hope the next one does that as well *g*

It was lovely to meet and talk. Hope RL is going well.

Apparently the fanhistory wiki is not without problems - but it's another place for Pros at least!

Date: 2007-09-30 10:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shooting2kill.livejournal.com
Wow, Chris Power!

I enjoyed this and on behalf of those who didn't attend, thanks for putting us in the picture a little bit more. And thanks for reminding me of the Foresmutters Project which is something I'd stumbled across ages ago and then completely forgot about.

Date: 2007-10-06 12:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiwisue.livejournal.com
Very glad you got something from it. And I'm in the same boat - I'd stumbled across a reference to Foresmutters before, but ZCon brought it all back.

Profile

kiwisue: (Default)
kiwisue

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 04:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios